RootsToTable

A place I will document our journey in living off the land

Dirt and rakes and straw, oh my! May 3, 2013

Filed under: Uncategorized — vsscents @ 7:44 am
Tags: , , , , , , ,

The weather was so nice yesterday, that I started getting the garden rows done! I wanted to put down how I am making my rows this year, so if it works out well, I will remember what I did 😉 I have read quite a bit about using mulch in the garden, and one of the blogs I had read (I found it! Old World Garden Farms) talked about how they mulched the garden and brought dirt in to put on top to make rows. I didn’t want to have to bring in dirt, so we plowed the ground and I am just going to really mulch it. The blog talked about how having straw in the rows is really beneficial to the plants, as it helps contain moisture, gives the roots room to move and it breaks down over time, so it adds nutrients. This sounds great to me! I am also hoping that next year, I will not need to till, since we are doing all of this now! So here is what I am doing:

First, I take my hoe, and make a long trench where my row will be placed. I take handfuls of straw, and fill that trench in.

image

You can see it filled in here:

image

I take my rake, and pull dirt from side of the trench to cover the straw

image

And then I pull dirt from the other side to make the mounded row

image

Here are two rows done, and I will be putting straw on the paths in between. I am using my rake width as the guide on my row spacing. Its approximately 14″ wide, so I think I will be good. I should be able to easily walk down each row, except maybe in the tomatoes.

image

And around here, we garden in our PJ’s! My youngest loves to help and so he was getting me straw with the pitchfork.

image

I cannot wait to see how this helps my garden grow this year! I did not mulch last year and I regretted it. We had SO many weeds that they overtook everything and I spent more time weeding and my plants suffered some. So far, the tilled area isnt really growing any weeds, so I am hopeful that I will not have the same problem, especially since I am going to mulch it heavily. I think I have enough straw haha

ETA: The blog I linked to has a LOT of great gardening information, as well as canning/freezing info! I have enjoyed spending time reading it for sure 🙂

 

Leave a Reply

