RootsToTable

A place I will document our journey in living off the land

Chicks and poults! June 12, 2013

Filed under: Uncategorized — vsscents @ 11:35 am

They have arrived! I ordered 35 cornish x broilers and 10 white broad-breasted turkey poults. We ended up with 2 extra broilers, which is awesome! They arrived this morning, and are settling in nicely. I am going to be keeping a tally of costs, as best as I can, so I can get an idea of what I will be paying per bird. I do have access to free feed, which I will only need to supplement protein on, so that will help keep costs down for sure! I plan on raising mealworms for protein, so that should help as well. Stay tuned for updates as these guys grow! I will be increasing the brooder size in a couple days, I want the poults to get good at eating/drinking first.

image

image

 

Leave a Reply

